ADVERTISEMENT

OT: For those who work for a large company do you see a movement to only focus on young staff?

Welp. Welcome to reality. I've been working at a tech company for the last 5 years as a developer. We've exploded business wise and I certainly feel the pressure from these young kids, but its all good in my book. I use my experience and train them, make sure I'm important.

Reactions: iceheart08
In lots of cases though they come in making close to the same pay as much more veteran employees. I would have less of a problem if they had more skills or knowledge but they don't. They also are not as loyal.

In lots of cases though they come in making close to the same pay as much more veteran employees. I would have less of a problem if they had more skills or knowledge but they don't. They also are not as loyal.

Nothing new as far as pay is concerned, this has been happening for many years.

As far as loyalty, there hasn't been any on the employer or employee side either for many years probably since our parents who used to work for the same company for many years, if not their whole career.

As an 'old', there's no way to answer that question effectively. The "market" is what it is (as much as I hate that expression).

I worked thirty-three years for a Fortune 100 company. I was paid reasonably well for a low-level grunt, but often overlooked - much of it my own fault - for advancement. But I recognized the need for new ideas, new blood, as it were, if we were going to move forward.

Sorry for the trite answer, but I got nothing more. It's a bitch.

Reactions: OwnThisState
Nothing new as far as pay is concerned, this has been happening for many years.

As far as loyalty, there hasn't been any on the employer or employee side either for many years probably since our parents who used to work for the same company for many years, if not their whole career.