ADVERTISEMENT

Use of the N-Word and Racism at Clemson

EZTiger1997

Valles Marineris
Gold Member
Jan 1, 2009
I graduated from Clemson in 1997. Came from California. I'm white.

What I observed:
- Holcomb dining area was largely segregated (naturally).
- I don't remember the n-work being commonly used, but it was used. In mixed race situations with people who had grown up together, it would get thrown around pretty casually. In these situations, there was no tone of malice, etc. In situations where only whites were around, the word would be used, but it typically carried judgement and prejudice in those uses. I remember there being a clear difference in tone/intent.
- People got a long, but there was typically white groups and black groups. Not so much mixed groups.

The university was founded by avowed racists and segregationists and has evolved from and all-white all-male institution to what it is today.

What did you experience in your time there? Is the university more or less racist/racially segregated than surrounding environments?

Reactions: undertheradar
There was definitely racism just like anywhere else. Honestly, there was stuff at the time that seemed pretty mild or we (white people) just looked past or were in denial about, but looking back was probably pretty bad. For example - back then, clothing with the Confederate flag on it was reasonably commonplace. Nowadays it's much less so.

Clemson has grown and learned like the rest of us. And in the same way there is still work left to do. We'd be fools to think otherwise.

I don't recall the N-word being thrown around though. I'm sure it was but not among the people I hung around. I may have heard it from a different crowd but I ignored it if I did.

Some of the fraternities were overtly racist...you know the ones.

Are any fraternities or sororities integrated? I don't recall any when I was at Clemson but I wasn't involved in it.

One frat was pretty well known for racism.

Last edited: