ADVERTISEMENT

OT - Religious Freedom Laws

longcreektiger

The Mariana Trench
Gold Member
Jan 12, 2005
Looks like NC and its 50k tech jobs is next. Interested to see how many on the board would support this legislation despite the impact to the state economy.

NC is next

... both laws are beyond ... disturbing. I could at least rationalize a wedding photographer or caterer not wanting to be apart of same-sex marriage ceremony. I get it......but your everyday run of the mill businesses that serve the public?

Its pure bigotry plain and simple.

From the pulpit to the legislator. Republicans having been throwing away conservatism so that they can push deregulation of business and regulation of social issues. It's disturbing.

I work in IT in Charlotte, the bill is stupid. Protestants just want to impress themselves by passing laws to defend themselves against 'Teh War on Teh Christianity'. Most ridiculous thing I've ever seen. This country is filled to the brim with fake victims.

Good thing McCory is suddenly trying to be a moderate again, as he has said he will veto it.

My favorite is the pizza place in Indiana that announced that thanks to the law, they would not cater any gay weddings. LMAO. What kind of self-respecting gay person would have pizza for their wedding? Its like Gamecock football announcing they are boycotting the playoffs.

Originally posted by CuWrX8314:
... both laws are beyond ... disturbing. I could at least rationalize a wedding photographer or caterer not wanting to be apart of same-sex marriage ceremony. I get it......but your everyday run of the mill businesses that serve the public?

All of these new "laws", though I agree with them in principle, are quite disturbing. Not because I disagree with their intent, but rather the implications: we need new laws to protect what is already protected by the Constitution.

The First Amendment is quite clear: